BTS

Thanks to my friends, I know who is BTS and LOVE THEM! I kind of heard of that name before but I wasn’t concern about at the time. For those who don’t know BTS or what it stands for, BTS stands for Bangtan Sonyeondan (방탄소년단) the korean name, which is Bulletproof Boy Scouts in English.

download (1)

 

From the top, left to right: V (Kim Taehyung (김태형)), Jungkook (Jeon Jeong-guk (전정국)) Jin (Kim Seok-jin (김석진)), Rap Monster (Kim Namjoon (김남준))

From the bottom, left to right: Jimin (Park Jimin (박지민)), Suga (Min Yoongi (민윤기)), J-hope (Jung Ho-seok (정호석))

I’m pretty sure I watch a video of BTS’s version of Boy Over Flowers or something called Bangtan High. Either way, I think that’s why I recognize Rap Monster so easily now. He just stands out to me.

When I first watch “Dope”, I thought Jungkook was V and V was Jungkook because there was a photo of BTS on wikipedia that had V wearing earrings and in the video Jungkook was wearing earrings. So, I thought Jungkook was V, until I started to look at them more and from the comments I read on youtube. I began to realize the difference: its their eyes! When you look real close their eyes look completely different. I know this probably sounds weird but when you look tat a bunch of photos of them, you’ll see. Also, when your not paying close attention V and Jungkook can kinda look alike, anyway.

I’m pretty sure like a month, “Blood, Sweat, and Tears”, didn’t have over 100 millions views. I don’t know how the fandoms did it but they manage to push the video to over 100 million views. And the views for “Dope” and “Fire” are still increasing. “Spring Day,” back in February, manage to get over 10 or 12 millions view in just 24 hours. That’s a first for a k-pop vid. Two weeks later, “Not Today” was released and beated “Spring Day”.

I love BTS because their music always seem to have an important message in it. Not that other groups don’t have messages in their songs. It’s just their music touches subjects like school bullying and rejecting societal norms,  that the South Korean music industry usually avoid since their society is different from our western societies.

But that’s what makes BTS, BTS. They go against status quo, no wonder their name is Bangtan Sonyeondan (방탄소년단). They are South Korea’s much needed Bulletproof Boy Scouts.

One thought on “BTS

Leave a Reply

